The Treasury Shows Vol. 11

Duke Ellington

Price: £15.99
Cat No#:
Duke Ellington
Buy Online at
Other Buying options

The music on this double-CD with Duke Ellington was recorded live during four radio broadcast sessions in August, September and October 1945, in New York, Philadelphia and Massachusetts. This is the first time this music is being released on CD. The repertoire (47 numbers/142 minutes) consists mostly of familiar Ellington standards, but there are also a few unusual tunes on the CD’s, including the seldom-recorded ”Pianistically Allied”, featuring both Ellington and Billy Strayhorn play duet on piano. The program is wonderfully diverse, from the beautiful, moody ”Moon Mist” (with great soloing by Ray Nance on violin, Johnny Hodges on alto and Lawrence Brown on trombone) to ”Blues On the Double”, a frisky jump blues with hot solos by trumpeter Rex Stewart and tenor saxophonist Al Sears, powered by a strong rhythm section.

Duke Ellington's Orchestra


  1. Take The A Train
  2. Take The A Train
  3. Mood Indigo
  4. On The Alamo
  5. De Bond Promo
  6. De Bond Promo
  7. In A Jam
  8. Sugar Hill Penthouse
  9. Everything But You
  10. Stomp, Look And Listen
  11. Pianistically Allied
  12. There'S No You
  13. I Don'T Mind
  14. Jumpin' Punkins
  15. De Bond Promo
  16. Body And Soul
  17. The Jeep In Jumpin'
  18. Station Break
  19. Take The A Tran
  20. Take The A Train
  21. Take The A Train
  22. Everything But You
  23. I'M Beginning To See The Light
  24. Pitter Panther Påatter
  25. De Bond Promo
  26. O'Clock Jump
  27. After You
  28. Moon Mist
  29. Don'T You Know I Care?
  30. De Bond Promo
  31. Indiana
  32. Jump For Joy
  33. The More I See You
  34. Take The A Train
  35. De Bond Promo
  36. Door Will Open
  37. Let The Zoomers Drool
  38. Lily Belle
  39. Suddenly It Jumpted
  40. West Indian Dance
  41. Every Hour On The Hour
  42. Waiting For The Train To Come
  43. Everything But You