The Treasury Shows Vol. 12

Duke Ellington

Price: £15.99
Cat No#:
Duke Ellington
Buy Online at
Other Buying options

This is volume 12 of Duke Ellington "The Treasure Shows" Jerry Valburn is the producer of the DETS series which will result in 24 double CDs at its completion. It contains Treasury Broadcast 22 recorded September 8, 1945 and Treasury Broadcast September 15, 1945 plus a Broadcast from the New Zanzibar New York recorded October 1, 1945. This is first time the music is released on CD. The repertoire consists mostly of Duke Ellington and Billy Strayhorn compositions. The Rogers and Hammerstein hit If I Love You is an arrangement by Billy Strayhorn who plays piano the vocal by Kay Davis. Emancipation Celebration from Ellington's suite Black, Brown and Beige has fine solo work from Rex Stewart. The double CD contains 35 numbers/120 minutes and many fine solos played by the famous Duke Ellington musicians.

Duke Ellington's Orchestra


  1. Take The A Train
  2. Carnegie Blues
  3. Riff Staccato
  4. De Bond Promo
  5. I Can'T Believe That You'Re In Love With Me
  6. Take The A Train
  7. Mood To Be Wooed
  8. Subtle Slough
  9. Kissing Bug
  10. C-Jam Blues
  11. Chelsea Bridge
  12. Bond Promo
  13. Every Hounr On The Hour
  14. Take The A Train
  15. The Jepp Is Jiumpin'
  16. Take The A Train
  17. De Bond Promo
  18. Creole Love Call
  19. If I Loved You
  20. Frankie And Johnny
  21. Unbooted Character
  22. Everything But You
  23. Just A Sitting And A Rockin'
  24. Emanicipation Celebration
  25. Bond Promo
  26. Warm Valley
  27. Hollywood Hangover
  28. Take The A Train
  29. Opening
  30. Caravan
  31. Three Cent Stomp
  32. Yesterdays