Storyville Records

Danish Jazz Vol. 2 - Leo Mathisen (1944-48)

Catalogue Number
SLP 411
Digital Download
Leo Mathisen

Contact Storyville


The next installment of the Danish Jazz compilation is now available on ITunes, Google Play & Spotify. This time Storyville Archive brings you Danish Jazz Vol. 2 featuring the late great Danish Jazz pianist and composer Leo Mathisen. The songs have previously not been available on vinyl, except "Eps" and "De 24 røvere". They were originally released on Tono and have been collector’s items a long time. They originally came from the two last occupation years and the first post-war years, which were considered a very prolific period for Leo and his orchestra. 


Leo Mathisen and his orchestra: Erik Parker, Tage Rasmussen, Leif Johansen (tp), Palmer Traulsen, Georg Allin Wilken-schildt, Svend Aage Nielsen (tb), Poul Clemmensen, Knut Knutsson (as), Henry Hagemann (ts), Georg Olsen (bar), Leo Mathisen (p, vo), Jørn Grauengaard (g), Carlo Jensen (b), John Steffensen (dm).


Recorded June 28, 1944 - April 27, 1947.  


Take The A Train Eps De 24 Røvere Birth Of The Blues Liza Bugle Call Rag Midnight In Munich Copenhagen Blues Sentimental Journey Jive At Volga Slow Motion L. M. Blues Makin' Whoopee Painted Rhythm

See All Bestsellers

Duke Ellington

My People

Eddie Gomez / Carsten Dahl

Live at Montmartre

The Danish Radio Big Band

A Good Time Was Had By All (6 CD-box set)

Duke Ellington

Duke At Fargo 1940

See All New Releases

Heine Hansen


Christina Dahl


Zier Romme