Storyville Records

Spirituals (Vinyl)

Price $25.99

Catalogue Number
The Danish Radio Big Band / Vincent Nilsson
Buy now on Amazon

Stream / Download

Contact Storyville


This new recording from Storyville Records celebrates Vincent
Nilsson’s 40 years anniversary as a prominent member of The Danish Radio Big Band, and he describes it as a “dream-project”. It combines Vincent’s skills as a long time arranger for the big band with his close relationship to spirituals and gospels.

Vincent grew up with the music through church and this is his third release on Storyville Records (see Storyville 1014240 and 1014258). The previous releases featured spirituals in smaller groups - this is the first time with arrangements for the Big Band format.

The tracklist contains well-known and lesser-known spirituals in new and jazzy arrangements with songs like Swing Low Sweet Chariot, Go Down Moses, Sometimes I Feel Like A Motherless Child, Just A Closer Walk With Thee, Joshua Fit The Battle Of Jericho and more.

Vincent salutes The Danish Radio Big Band’s 50th anniversary in 2014 - an ensemble famous for “that big, fat, Danish sound.” Since it was established in 1964 the band has always aimed at a high level of artistic quality.


Vocals: Eliel Lazo (1, 3, 6, 10, 12), Jacob Munck (3, 7), the Band Choir (1, 3, 13)

Trombone: Vincent Nilsson (2, 3, 5, 7, 11)

Trumpet & flugelhorn: Anders Gustafsson (lead), Michael Mølhede, Thomas Kjærgaard, Mads la Cour, Gerard Presencer

Trombone & baritone: Steen Hansen (lead)

Trombone: Peter Jensen

Trombone, Bass trombone & euphonium: Annette Huseby Saxe

Bass trombone & tuba: Jakob Munck (1, 2, 4, 5, 11, 12), Kim Aagaard (3, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 13)

Alto saxophone, flute & piccolo: Nikolai Schultz (lead)

Alto Saxophone, clarinet & flute: Peter Fuglsang

Tenor saxophone & soprano saxophone: Hans Ulrik

Tenor saxophone: Claus Waidtløw

Baritone saxophone: Anders Gaardmand

Guitars & banjo: Per Gade

Piano, electric piano, organ & celesta: Henrik Gunde

Bass & el. bass: Kaspar Vadsholt

Congas & percussion: Eliel Lazo

Drums: Søren Frost


Recorded March 12-14, 2014 at the Danish Radio Studio 3

See All Bestsellers

The Danish Radio Big Band / Vincent Nilsson


Thomas Fonnesbæk / Justin Kauflin


Dexter Gordon

Montmartre 1964

See All New Releases

Tommy Flanagan

Solo Piano

Helle Henning

As Long as We Both Know

Steen Vig

Blue Boat