Storyville Records

The Radio Years 1940

Price $8.99

Catalogue Number
Digital Download
Coleman Hawkins

Stream / Download

Contact Storyville


This music chronicles Coleman Hawkins' short lived career as a big band leader, which lasted for less than one year during 1940. The music is comprised of two NCB radio broadcasts made during a twelve week engagement at the Savoy Ball room. It's a mixture of standards, lesser- known popular tunes of the day some rarities (like "Asleep In the Deep" written in 1897!), plus one Hawkins original, all with surprisingly good sound quality Hawkins' big band sounds good smooth and conventional.


Tommy Stevenson, Joe Guy, Tommy Lindsay trumpets, Nelson Bryant trumpet & vocal, Sandy Williams, Claude Jones, Billy Kato trombones, Eustis Moore, Lawrence "Jackie" Fields alto saxes, Ernie Powel alto sax & clarinet Kermit Scott, Coleman Hawkins tenor saxes -Gene Rodgers piano, Gene Fields guitar, Bily Taylor string bass - J.C. Heard rums & vocal, Gladys Madden vocal

See All Bestsellers

Dexter Gordon

Montmartre 1964

Thomas Fonnesbæk / Justin Kauflin


Eddie Gomez / Carsten Dahl

Live at Montmartre

See All New Releases

Enrico Pieranunzi / Paul Motian / Marc Johnson

The Copenhagen Concert

Mulgrew Miller / Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen (NHØP)

The Duo

Carsten Dahl Trinity

Mirrors Within

Helle Henning

As Long as We Both Know